Logo RGB Utah copy

Moving Justice Forward For 60 Years!



JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 961

About the ACLU of Utah - Spring 2017

20 April 2017 Published in Resources & Publications

This article was first published in the Liberty Reporter: 2017 Spring Newsletter >>

The ACLU of Utah, chartered in 1958, operates through public education, legal advocacy, litigation, and lobbying at both the state and local levels to ensure the constitutional rights and freedoms of everyone living in or visiting Utah. Our work is based on those principals outlined in the Bill of Rights and our priorities include: Participatory Democracy; Racial Justice; Criminal Justice Reform; Immigration Reform; LGBTQ Equality; Women’s Rights; Digital Security & Privacy; and Religious Liberty & Freedom of Belief. In addition, we continue our commitment to protect the First Amendment.

For more about the ACLU of Utah and our priorities please visit www.acluutah.org


  • Brittney Nystrom, Executive Director
  • Marina Baginsky Lowe, Legislative and Policy Counsel
  • John Mejia, Legal Director
  • Leah Farrell, Staff Attorney
  • Anna Thomas, Strategic Communications Manager
  • Cassie Taylor, Development Director
  • Jessica Andrews, Finance and Business Manager
  • Reinard Knutsen, Office Manager
  • Margie Nash, Paralegal


Board of Directors:

  • Michael Weinholtz, President
  • Danielle Hawkes, Vice President
  • Bill Orchow, Treasurer
  • Heidi Chamorro, Secretary
  • Barry Gomberg, Affirmative Action Officer
  • Roderic Land, National ACLU Board Rep.
  • Erin Castro,
  • Gina Cornia,
  • Roni Jo Draper,
  • Rachel Elliott,
  • Forrest Crawford,
  • Russell Fericks,
  • Brian King,
  • Clemens Landau,
  • Suresh Venkatasubramanian,
  • Robert Wood


Legal Panel:

  • Jensie Anderson,
  • Rusty Andrade,
  • Ruth-Arlene W. Howe,
  • Laura Kessler,
  • Tom Mitchell,
  • Nubia Pena,
  • Kristina Ruedas,
  • David Reymann,
  • Karen Stam,
  • Aaron Tarin,
  • Mary Woodhead


Interns and Volunteers:

  • Elizabeth Beck,
  • Amiee Finster,
  • Matthew Grow,
  • Juan Guerrero,
  • Jessie Haus,
  • Diane Keech,
  • Mark Levitt,
  • Monica Lunn,
  • Katie Munk,
  • Hannah Nerone,
  • Elizabeth Penado,
  • Easton Smith,
  • Zach Stickney,
  • Rhun Zhi Lai

Contact Information:  355 North 300 West Salt Lake City, UT 84103 Phone: (801) 521-9862 Fax: (801) 532-2850 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. www.acluutah.org

ACLU Smart Justice Utah web button 2